How do You Delete A Post From Your Facebook Timeline?

How do You Delete A Post From Your Facebook Timeline?

How do You Delete A Post From Your Facebook Timeline? In this post, I'll attempt to explain in-depth how to delete a Facebook post from your own wall. If you mistakenly post something on your Facebook timeline and want to delete it but don't know how to go about it, this post will definitely show you the way out. So if you're in dire need of how to delete stuff you posted on your timeline on Facebook, there is no point to be worried anymore as this article will provide you with the needed steps. See: How to Unblock Someone on FB
How do You Delete A Post From Your Facebook Timeline?
How to Delete a Facebook Post 
Let's consider a scenario where someone else posted stuff on your timeline. If someone posted something you don't like on your timeline, you'll have to hide the post from your timeline rather than removing it. To hide that post, you'll need to navigate to the post on your timeline and then do the following; See: How to Unblock Someone on Facebook Mobile

When you look at the post, you will not see the carrot on the right side. Hover your mouse in that area to see the carrot. Click on it.

You will see several options. Click “I don’t want to see this.”

Once that is done successfully, you will no longer see it. Facebook changes exactly what this says from time to time, but the concept is the same. As in my next set of instructions.

Another Way to Remove a Post
Alternatively, there is a slightly different set of options which you may see when you try to delete a Facebook post by someone else.

If you take the time to check that out, you'll see options such as “Hide” and “Report/Mark as Spam.”

Probably in your own account, you may not have the survey option and may not have “I don’t want to see this.”

What’s the deal?

I guess someone has a different set of options than others do on their page because one is newer than the other.

Deleting Your Own Facebook Post
The two posts above were written by others. If you have written a post of your own that you want to delete, here is how it is currently done.

As you can see, there are completely different options when the post is your own. You can delete your own post, unfollow it, or embed it somewhere else.

Deleting or Removing a Comment 
If you have written a comment on a post (yours or someone else’s) you will instead see a pencil when you hover.

See: How To View Blocked List On Facebook | See FB Blocked List & Unblock Friends.

In summary, it seems that Facebook has decided to change the word delete to hide, or something else that does not make it clear whether you are actually deleting a post from your timeline. Given that you cannot delete someone else’s post anyway, this makes some sense.

How do You Delete A Post From Your Facebook Timeline?